top of page

Review on the MUA Luxe Velvet matt lipstick!

So like everyone else, or maybe ‘everyone else’, I like to do things on a budget. I definitely can not afford high ended products which means that most of my things are either street style or drugstore products. 

However, today I really wanted to make a review on these lipsticks which, let me tell you, are ONLY £3!

Every time I go to Superdrug’s I look for cruelty free makeup products. I’ve never really tried buying anything from the MUA section as I thought they looked very cheap and even when testing out some of their products, I felt that it just wasn’t for me. 

Recently they’ve been really upping their game. Coming out with new products and appealing to a variety of audiences. Their range has turned in to something that even catches my eyes. Their packaging has turned quirky and quite sleek and on top of that AFFORDABLE! 

One of the main thing that catches my eyes were these lipsticks. The MUA luxe velvet matt lipsticks. I hadn’t seen them before but the gold packaging with the geometric design on the bottom was the biggest eye catcher for me which left me no choice but to buy it!

I bought number 2 and Number 3 as I felt that that was the most appealing colour for my skin tone. And who doesn’t like a good dark colour! 

The shape of the lipstick inside has a wonderful diamond cut look to it. Who goes that far to make their lipstick look that cute!  You can tell that MUA are really trying to make their products stand out more. They are finally competing against those expensive drug store brands (and let me tell you, they’re doing a great job at it). 

As you can see in the above pictures, these lipsticks are really rich in their colour, giving a good and solid pigment. 

On MUA’s original website, it states that these lipsticks give you a “full pigment, velvet matte lipsticks... this lipstick applies smoothly for a full coverage, gorgeously matte finish”.

As you can tell by the pictures, they are definitely pigmented with a slight shine to it  which gives it a velvet look. However, they look abit dry on my lips and even though it says the “lipstick applies smoothly”, I had to apply abit of pressure to get the true colour out on my lips.  On the other hand, I have noticed that after a few wears the consistency of the formula does soften and applies much more affectivly. 

When it comes to how long it lasts on your lips... well that’s the drawback. It doesn’t last long enough on your lips. Sometimes I would wear these lipsticks to a 7 hour work shift and I would constantly have to apply every 2-3 hours. It’s also not drink-friendly so it does come off quite quickly.  

Would I recommend this product to you guys?

DEFINITELY! Yes yes and yes!!! 

For £3 this is definitely worth your budget. Yes, it may not last long on lips but your money will. 

This lipstick comes in 12 wonderful colours. So definitely give this makeup line a go! 


bottom of page