top of page

What to expect when getting your first tattoo


Getting your very first tattoo is quite an important step for everyone. However, there are a few questions that go through everyone's mind when getting them. Today, we'll be telling you what you should expect when getting your very first tattoo and how to do it the right way.

1. What tattoo do you want?

Before getting my first tattoo I had to go through so many designs and thoughts on the tattoo I wanted. I was sometimes left contemplating between so many that I felt that maybe I was making the wrong decision. What I can advise you is to think about the tattoo design you want atleast a month or two before you actually get your tattoo. This is because it's going to be on your body, for maybe, the rest of your life. So it's important that you get the tattoo you really want. For me, I got the tattoo aum, as it symbolized purity and peace. Also, draw the tattoo that you want on your body and test out the places that you maybe want it.

If you are stuck on some tattoo ideas, here are a few simple first tattoo's that you can choose from:

2. Always find the best tattoo artist

Many of us make the mistake of going to a tattoo artist and getting a tattoo done because it is cheap or affordable. However, many places that are cheap are cheap for a reason. There may be a lack of hygiene or even experience in the place that you are getting it done at. Make sure you find reliable sources and reviews on the tattoo parlor you want to go to. My tattoo was as small as a 50p coin and it cost me around £30. Yes, it seemed expensive for a tattoo that small but the tattoo artist that I got it done from was great! So if you end up finding a deal that is too good to be true then go with your instinct and get it done by a professional. Trust me, you won't regret it one bit.

3. The pain

I thought that the pain depended on our pain tolerance, however, that is only totally true to a certain extent. There are many people out there that have high pain tolerance but when getting a tattoo, couldn't bare it. I do feel that there are certain parts of the body where you may get a tattoo that might hurt less. So this is a matter of, "hey this is going to hurt" and getting a tattoo anyways or just completely chickening out. From personal experience, my tattoo on my wrist hurt like hell but I know someone from my workplace who got her tattoo done on her wrist too and she didn't feel that much pain. I guess a tattoo is a tattoo.

4. Aftercare

Now this is the most important part when getting a tattoo, the aftercare. It is vital that you take care of your tattoo so it does not get infected, which can be very painful. If you have no clue on aftercare on new tattoos then your tattoo artist will happy to tell you exactly about it. They are most likely to tell you about the cream you need to use and other detailed things like not submerging it in water for a couple of days. SO DEFINITELY ASK YOUR TATTOO ARTIST ABOUT THE AFTERCARE OF YOUR TATTOO.

For my aftercare I was told to get a cream called Bepanthen (Picture below)

The last step is to just enjoy this new experience and also your new tattoo.

bottom of page